The Little Engine Tag

I was tagged by Kate Kearney at More than 1/2 Mad for this Little Engine Tag. The picture it comes with is frightening, seemingly sentient, and mandatory.

Little_Engine.png

This thing gazed into the abyss and liked what it saw…..

Little_Engine hell

The Rules 

  1. This tag includes eight questions: six permanent, and two that change at the whim of the blogger. Do what you like with the last two when you pass this tag on.
  2. Each answer you give to a question must be more than two sentences long.
  3. At the end, tag some folks, include the picture, and post.

The Questions:

  1. What’s one of your biggest pet peeves?

In real life, when strangers needlessly sit next to me in public spaces. Seriously people, respect our culture in which physical proximity to strangers is akin to insult. This applies to public transportation, movie theaters, office meetings, and public bathroom stalls. Take one seat down and I won’t wish for your demise via fiery meteor.

In fiction, when an author decides three books in, that their previously interesting main character also needs to be a chosen one. I find it trite and usually implemented in lieu of actual character development. See also, discovers nobility and/or unique magical heritage.

  1. What is your favorite song at the moment?

Words as Weapons by Birdy

I like Birdy. But because of a very specific, very loud character, I love this song.

“I feel your knife as is goes right in
Cut to my core but I’m not bleeding
All that you say trying to make me small
Well the bigger you get the harder you fall”

Aside from that particular song, I’ve been revisiting bands I loved in high school and finding their current stuff. 17 Crimes by AFI is my new favorite.

 

  1. Who is your favorite blogger?

Anyone who doesn’t ask me this stupid question. This one made me rethink my pet peeve answer.

If I have to name someone, MindLovesMisery. Their prompts here keep me writing and have solved more than one bout of writer’s block.

  1. What’s the nicest thing you’ve seen someone do recently?

My friends took care of my dog all Sunday so I could spend Mother’s Day with my mother. Instead of simply letting Lily out and leaving, they took her to the dog beach for hours where she had a fantastic day filled with sand, lovable pitbulls, and delicious seaweed. Lily was returned to me freshly bathed and exhausted.

Freshly bathed and exhausted is one of my favorite versions of my dog. Thank you friends.

  1. What’s something you regret doing?

Forgetting my breakfast this morning. Three gourmet bagels sit on my kitchen counter. Now I am at work, bagel-less and remorseful.

  1. If you could take only three items with you to a deserted island, what would they be, and why?

A solar powered laptop, a satellite capable of receiving internet signal, and a machete.

The first two should be self explanatory. I feel no need to test the limits of my sanity via isolation. Solitude and self sufficiency can be pleasant in a small dose. However, even Thoreau took breaks. Servants brought him newspapers at the Walden cabin and Thoreau went home on weekends so that his mother could do his laundry.

The third item is explained by the simple fact that reportedly “deserted” islands are rarely that. A weapon will be handy when whomever or whatever actually lives on this “deserted” island comes to say hello.

  1.  Will you tell us some interesting animal facts?

Dogs experience a rush of Oxytocin when they gaze into their human owners’ eyes. Oxytocin is the hormone which facilitates the ‘love’ feeling humans get when they view loved ones. The feeling is mutual, and ‘gazing’ studies have been done on humans, domesticated dogs, and wild wolves.

Researchers theorize that domesticated dogs’ ancestors were specific wolves who were friendly towards humans and developed this bonding strategy as an evolutionary measure. [Science  18 Jan 2013: Vol. 339, Issue 6117, pp. 267-269 DOI: 10.1126/science.339.6117.267]

Also the American Kestrel is North America’s littlest falcon. They will often attack larger predatory birds to gain territory or protect their own. [Source]

  1. What are some tropes that just make you go “YES THAT IS MY THING”?

Vampires have been done literally *ahem* to death. But I still absolutely adore some well done vampire angst. A proper protagonist should not enjoy being a monster, and they should be a little miffed at whoever consigned them to an immortality of limited dietary options and a plethora of lace.

Tvtropes.org labels this trope as “I Hate You, Vampire Dad”, which is great.

The other trope I fall for every time is the one where enemies or rivals from either sides of a conflict must work together. If neither are happy about it, all the better.

“Fine, we’ll work together. At the very least, we’ll prove it’s a bad idea.” Black Mage

I’m tagging:

Raw Rambles. I am holding you to this. Its fun, I promise.

Lion Around Writing.  I am not holding you to this, but congrats on your 400th post, so here is a tag.

And your new questions are:

  1.  Where is your favorite place to write and why? 
  1. What makes you nostalgic?
Leave a Reply

