Lets do this- Bookshelf Tag

I have been challenged (or tagged, whatever) by a particularly interesting Apprentice to complete a bookshelf questionnaire of sorts. Its the bookshelf tag and here is mine.

1. Is there a book that you really want to read, but haven’t because you know that it will make you cry?

No. I don’t seek out books that make me sad, but I don’t avoid them either. If a book happens to make me cry I usually congratulate it on besting me.

If someone I trust with book recommendations tells me to read something, I usually do despite any unpleasant emotional reactions I might experience. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green was a pleasant surprise, and by pleasant I mean I was bawling and no one knew how to console me.

2. Pick one book that helped introduce you to a new genre.

This is hard as I am rather boring when it comes to my reading breadth. Deviation requires time and time is my rarest asset.  The Stand by Stephen King dipped my toes into the horror genre when I was a teenager. I still frequent the genre and mix it with my more standard fantasy fare.

The ‘Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark’ series may have beaten The Stand to the punch though. I was reading aloud from the moment I realized I had a better tolerance for the spooky than my younger sisters and cousins. I am not sorry.

I have a sneaking suspicion I would love mysteries but have yet to find any that will humor my silly fascination with rogues, demons and assassins.

3. Find a book that you want to reread.

I have moved from the habit of rereading as there is oh so many books I haven’t read. That said I read Mary Stewart’s Merlin trilogy and Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Mists of Avalon before I could really appreciate them. There are some things an eleven year old just wont get. Those are on my to-do list.

4. Is there a book series you read, but wish that you hadn’t?

No, perhaps aside from the foolhardy choices of my youth, which I look back on with chagrin, not regret. I don’t have time to read bad books.

Even the Twilight Series, which I read solely so I could explain why I didn’t like it, doesn’t really enter into the category of “wish I hadn’t”

5. If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save?

There is a leather bound copy of The Hobbit which my father read to my sisters and I many times. It would come first. Then the leather bound copy of The Lord of the Rings which he read only to me.

 

6. Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories?

Look to question number five

Additionally Homeland by RA Salvatore and the rest of his early books regarding Drizzt. So many afternoons after high school were spent discussing drow and the larger world attached to Dungeons and Dragons world. It was this series that spawned my love of high fantasy and the pulpy enjoyment you can find in a quick read.

Also the person who lent me the book was not my friend at the time but would become one.

7. Find a book that has inspired you the most.

These questions are getting heady. The problem lies with the prompt “a book”. One book has never inspired me. Lines, characters, plots, ideas and execution from books inspire me. Some of which are Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin, The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson, and The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch. These are a few, there are more as well as a host of short stories which tend to affect any writing of mine more than larger novels.

8. Do you have any autographed books?

Yes a few. Only a couple of them have been signed in person. Some I will treasure (Tamora Pierce was nice enough to sign a few) and the other I will probably get rid of it as it killed a good series that could have been (I’m looking at you Words of Radiance).

Not bitter at all, nope.

9. Find the book that you have owned the longest.

Another hard question as book ownership was fluid in my household growing up. Mostly because books found their way from my father’s shelves into mine with what he felt was alarming consistency.

But oldest book that I possess that was definitively mine? Goodnight Moon and The Runaway Bunny.  Got em for my second birthday and they are still on my shelf next to battered copies of Nancy Drew and The Lioness Quartet.

 

10. Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy?

Author? Joseph Conrad. Heart of Darkness is a book they make you read in high school and I had little interest in the subject matter. But his prose is ominous and weighty and I found myself looking forward to simply reading the words.

 

And now for my meager challenge.

Oh Raw Rambler, this challenge was made for you.

 

Leave a Reply

