Book Blogger TMI Tag

Book Blogger TMI Tag

I’ve been tagged by an Apprentice (or The Apprentice, but I am pretty sure that was a reality television show I never watched) over at Apprentice, Never Master which is great because this combines some of my favorite things, writing, myself, books, the internet…

How old are you?

With some stalking one could find out. And since fortune favors the overly obsessed and internet savvy, tally-ho.

What book are you reading?
*sigh*  Well currently I am making my way through Cultures of United States Imperialism and Artillery of Heaven: American Missionaries and the Failed Conversion of the Middle East. 

The casualties of grad school, aka what I would be currently reading if not for the tyrannical whims of my professors: Broken Blade by Kelly McCullough, She Walks in Darkness by Evangeline Walton, and The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories by Susanna Clarke.

What are you wearing?
The blood of innocents and the skins of my enemies. Why is this a question?

OTP?
I am on Tumblr too much to not know what that term is. Of all my One True Pairings (Many True Pairings?) Me and Bagels would be number one. Those things are delicious.

Also I kind of stole that joke from DanIsNotOnFire and his video I Will Go Down With This Ship below. Watch at your own risk.

Blogger or WordPress?
Look at the URL above I suppose.

Going outside being active or staying in and reading a book?
Going outside. Hands down. Which is a turn of phrase whose origin I did not know until I looked it up just now.

“Hands down,” it seems, dates back to the mid-19th century and harks, not from card-playing or schoolyard fisticuffs, but from the genteel world of horseracing. A jockey nearing the finish line well ahead of the competition, with victory certain, would often relax his posture and drop his hands, relaxing his hold on the reins, as his steed galloped the final few yards. To win a race “hands down,” therefore, was to win it easily, without any serious competition, and by the late 19th century the phrase was being used in non-racing contexts to mean “with no trouble at all.”

You’re welcome.

What is the last book you read?
Well that is a bit of a difficult question as I have been making may way through anthologies. In which case it would be American Supernatural Tales edited by S.T. Joshi. But I never finish anthologies in their entirety because I do not waste time on books (or portions of books) I do not enjoy.

The last full book I finished cover to cover was the third in the Gentlemen Bastards series by Scott Lynch. The first book, The Lies of Locke Lamora, endeared me to the flawed grifters that were the main characters. The world was immersive and the thievery and confidence tricks backdropped what was already a very entertaining plot. The Republic of Thieves, lacked a lot of the charm and intelligence of the first one and I very nearly gave up a few times.

What is the book you’re going to read next?
That really depends on how much I am lying to myself. Grimspace by Ann Aguirre probably. It has been recommended to me along with the first book in Rachel Bach’s sci-fi series, Fortune’s Pawn.

But if I am not being ridiculously self-deceptive… this semester’s booklist.

Ebooks – yes or no?
Yes. I will always prefer the feel and smell of a real book in my hands, I don’t know many avid readers who say otherwise. However, ebooks and ebook readers are incredibly useful. Flights, drives and any sort of travel are already made difficult my paranoid penchant for overpacking. The terror of being struck bookless is solved by the kindle’s dangerous ability to store my credit card.

Where do you prefer to read?
Closets during family gatherings. It’s not a metaphor for sexual identity. I literally hide in closets during family gatherings so no one can tell me to put the book away and socialize.

Other than that, atop soft things and adjacent to warm things.

Who is the last person you tweeted?
A wonderful lady named Lindsey who shares my love of mackerel and intramural high school swimming clubs. Yes, that is a reference to something. If you get it we should be friends.

Whose blog did you look at last?

Apprentice, Never Master. Mostly as they are the ones who lassoed me into this exercise in self literary exploration.

But outside of this TMI endeavor I was last on More Than 1/2 Mad because they write lines like “Pink and glitter and flash next to blue and matte and dark.” and I adore them for it.

Who is your favorite blogger?
Ehhhh…. lets see. Blogger? Like someone who posts things on the internet? Because there are a lot of those.

I’m just going to go with… nope, next question.

Who is your favorite book-tuber?
What? Tumblr has taught me that human expression can be sacrificed in favor of gifsets.

ImageImageImage

Between book-tubers and the last question I’m becoming ornery.

What do you do when someone tells you reading is boring?
Because I throw insults like a ten year old my first impulse is to say  “No, you’re boring.” and then maybe chuck a hello kitty pencil at them. In reality I would probably just shrug and let them go on thinking the stupid. More books for meeeee!

Who is the last author you spoke to?
Tamora Pierce. The woman has a wicked sense of humor and a baffling poker face when she is trolling her fans. I think I spoke to her…the memory is somewhat hazy as I was attempting to stop my inner eleven-year-old-self from hyperventilating for most the event.

Who is the last person you texted?
My significant-other, roommate, friend, romantic thing, partner person. I was reporting on the unfortunate circumstance wherein I fell asleep reading and promptly drooled over the text I was supposed to be highlighting.

Who is your all-time favorite book character?

Instead of answering this impossible question, setting up for failure much? I will answer instead with someone who is indicative of my favorite type of character. Richard Mayhew from Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere has long time been one of my favorite individuals to grace pages. Richard Mayhew is an everyman (everyhuman? everyperson?) who falls into an extraordinary and dangerous world all because he helped the wrong person. He does not pick up a sword and become the best at everything that is best, like many protagonists in novels. Richard Mayhew wants to go home ….as person dragged through sewers and space/time pockets would.

There are no prophecies about Richard Mayhew and he never discovers and ancient lineage he must live up to. He is a normal guy who reacts with uncertainty and fear when confronted with a perilous and unfamiliar world. Richard Mayhew has flaws, and yet despite them, does all the things a protagonist is supposed to do. He is a person who rises to a challenge and chooses right in the end.

And so ends my love letter to Richard Mayhew.

United Kingdom YA or United States YA?
United States I suppose. YA isn’t my genre but I assume in a culturally self centered manner that the little I’ve read has come from the states.

What is your preferred drink whilst reading?
The tears of my enemies’ widows. That or cranberry juice.

If you hated reading, what would you be doing instead?
Probably failing grad school. You have to love affixing your eyes to pages to get through it.

But aside from that, the things I do now minus the reading. Losing hours on Tumblr, hating my office job, forcing myself into the meat market that is the gym…

How many bookshelves / bookcases do you have?
A lot. The second bedroom in my apartment is not a bedroom. It is literally a library.

If you had the choice to meet all of your favorite book bloggers or all of your favorite authors, which would you pick? You can only pick one.
Bloggers. The people I listen to on the internet tend to be funny and I enjoy an entertaining individual.

Insta-love: yes or no?
Nope. Doesn’t happen.

Insta-infatuation, insta-obsession, insta- “I see that you’re wearing a shirt with a reference to that thing I like and pleeeeease beeee myyy frieeend…”. Sure, those happen. But love requires you to know a person, not just the idea you have of a person.

Favorite author?
They change but Brandon Sanderson currently holds the prime spot on my shelf. He wrote my current obsession The Way of Kings. March cannot come soon enough with its sequel.

But as for the people who will always be favorites. Tamora Pierce because who didn’t want to run away and be a knight when they were ten. R.A. Salvatore in a special category of nostalgia and slightly guilty adoration. The man started my unhealthy obsession with Dark Elves and the fantasy genre as a whole. I loved Neil Gaiman before I knew who he was. It was quite the revelation when I realized my new favorite book Neverwhere had the same author as my old favorite Coraline. Tolkien of course must be mentioned as I have the White Tree and Smaug tattooed for eternity on my flesh.

What is the number-one book on your wishlist?
Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson. The sequel to the aforementioned The Way of Kings.

Do you prefer books with female or male protagonists?
I enjoy fun and very flawed protagonists who tend to get over their head’s quickly. The gender does not matter to me.

That said, it is nice to see female protagonists in the genres I read because until recently the career track of fantasy/sci-protagonists has been rather male dominated.

Which is your favourite book-to-film adaption?
Howl’s Moving Castle. The tone changed with Studio Ghibli’s touch but the premise is wonderful and it should be shared through many mediums.

What is the last song you listened to?

I’m Coming Home by Murder by Death

Which do you enjoy reading more – negative reviews or positive reviews?
As of this point I don’t really get much in the way of either.

Who are you going to tag?

Someone who needs to write more over at raw rambles.

Someone who might respond over at The Gate in the Wood.

One response to “Book Blogger TMI Tag

  1. Pingback: Book Blogger TMI Tag | More Than 1/2 Mad

Leave a Reply

